General Dentistry

GENERAL DENTAL EXAMINATION

During your visit,  you will first meet the dental hygienist who will take x-rays, photos, and measurements. This information allows our dentists to make an accurate diagnose and provide a complete examination.

CLEANING

A dental cleaning performed by a dental hygienist allows removing plaque and tartar deposits on the teeth and above the gum line that can develop cavities even with impeccable dental hygiene at home. Professional cleaning includes removing plaque and calculus with specialized instruments, polishing the teeth, applying fluor and neutralizing bacteria in your mouth with ultrasound. The majority of dental hygienists recommend professional cleaning at least once or twice a year. More frequent cleanings may be necessary during the treatment of other dental problems.

GUM THERAPY

Sometimes plaque forms below the level of the gum. This irritating plaque can cause bleeding and gingival inflammation. If gingivitis is not controlled, it can cause discomfort due to engorgement of blood in the gums. Treatment consists of eliminating the infection. In our clinic, all gum care is offered, including a gum test at each routine check.

 

CARIES

A cavity develops when a tooth decays. These small holes that form on the surface of the teeth are caused by the production of acidity due to the mixture of bacteria and sugar contained in the food that we consume. Often tooth decay does not hurt until it reaches an advanced stage. Treatment is done by a composite restoration, also known as a “white filling”, which is simply the application of a sealant material that has the same color of the tooth.

 

ENDODONTICS

Deep decay can reach the cavity in which the nerve of the tooth is located and could become infected and necrotic. Root canalization involves cleaning and disinfecting the pulp cavity of any infected nerve debris.

 

DENTAL SURGERY AND WISDOM TOOTH EXTRACTION

Wisdom tooth extraction is a surgical procedure to remove one or more wisdom teeth — the four permanent adult teeth located at the back corners of your mouth on the top and bottom. The extraction takes place after X-rays has been taken by the dentist and has shown that the growth or position of the wisdom teeth may be problematic. The extraction of wisdom teeth requires the dentist to follow a rigorous protocol. We provide the expertise and technology to limit the side effects for the patient.

(450) 349-0145

©2019 by Claude Landry Dental Clinic Inc.

320 Boulevard du Séminaire North, suite 101, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC J3B 5K9, Canada

(450) 349-0145

©2019 par la Clinique Dentaire Claude Landry Inc.

320 Boulevard du Séminaire Nord, local 101, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC J3B 5K9, Canada

Dentisterie Générale

EXAMEN DENTAIRE GÉNÉRAL

Lors de votre visite, vous allez tout d’abord rencontrer l’hygiéniste dentaire qui prendra des radiographies, des photos ainsi que des mesures. Le tout permet d’avoir tous les renseignements nécessaires afin de permettre à nos dentistes, de faire un examen le plus complet qu’il soit.

NETTOYAGE

Le nettoyage dentaire par une hygiéniste dentaire permet de retirer le tartre (plaque minéralisée) qui peut se développer même avec une hygiène dentaire impeccable à la maison. Un nettoyage professionnel comprend le détartrage, le polissage des dents et la neutralisation des bactéries pathogènes dans votre bouche par ultrasons. La majorité des hygiénistes dentaires recommandent un nettoyage professionnel au moins une à deux fois par année. Des nettoyages plus fréquents peuvent être nécessaires pendant le traitement d’autres problèmes dentaires.  

TRAITEMENT DES GENCIVES

Il arrive parfois que le tartre (plaque minéralisée) se forme sous le niveau de la gencive. Ce tartre irritant peut causer du saignement et de l’inflammation gingivale. Si la gingivite n’est pas contrôlée, elle peut causer de l’inconfort dû à l’engorgement de sang dans les gencives.

Le traitement consiste à y éliminer l'infection. Dans notre clinique, tous les soins reliés aux traitements des gencives sont offerts, y compris un test de dépistage des maladies de gencives à chacun des examens de routine.

 

CARIE(S)

La carie est une maladie qui affecte les dents. Ces petits trous qui se forment sur la surface des dents sont causés par la production d’acidité due au mélange de bactéries et des sucres contenus dans les aliments que nous consommons. Souvent la carie ne fait pas mal jusqu’à ce qu’elle arrive à un stade avancé.

Le traitement est fait par une obturation en composite, communément appelée « plombage blanc », qui est simplement l’application d’un matériau scellant qui possède la même couleur de la dent.

 

ENDODONTIE

Une carie profonde peut atteindre la cavité dans laquelle se trouve le nerf de la dent. Ce dernier peut s’infecter et nécroser. Le traitement de canal consiste à nettoyer et désinfecter la cavité pulpaire de tous débris de nerf infecté.

 

CHIRURGIE ET EXTRACTION DES DENTS DE SAGESSE

L’extraction des dents de sagesse consiste à enlever complètement les troisièmes molaires grâce à une intervention chirurgicale. L'extraction a lieu après que des radiographies aient été prises chez le dentiste et aient démontré que la croissance ou le positionnement des dents de sagesse pourrait s’avérer problématique. L’extraction des dents de sagesse demande que le dentiste suive un protocole rigoureux. Lorsque nous procédons à l’extraction des dents de sagesse d’un patient, nous voulons limiter les effets secondaires au maximum.